DIVISIONS:    18+ | 30+ | 40+ | 50+ | 60+ |

Austin Metro Baseball League Fall Ball Try-outs

Try-outs for Austin Metro Baseball League's 2018 Fall Ball Season will be held on Sunday, August 19th at Downs Field located at 2816 East 12th Street. Registration begins at 11:00 am and try-outs will start at 12:00 pm. There is a $10.00 cash registration fee due at registration. The Fall Ball Season will begin on Sunday, September 9th and will end in mid November. New teams are always welcome!

If you would like to join and play in a Men's Adult Baseball League that is the largest in Austin, has the best competition, one that plays on college and top rated high school fields and has the best umpires around, then this is the league for you. This season will be Austin Metro Baseball League's 29th year! We are a franchise of MSBL/MABL National, the best amateur baseball in the world! For more information, you may contact League President Michael Lucas at 512-835-8989 or via email at mlucas@bfrench.com.

2017 Champions


18+ Division Champions - Thunder 2018

Back Row Left to Right: Girsan Negron, Eric Worden, Jason Wheaton, Alex Brown, Jonathan Morgan, Steven Garza, Peter Creamer, Parker Aguilar, Jon Cuip - (Manager)

Front Row Left to Right: Derrick Sampel, Brandon Worden, Randy Vega, Alex Mattero, Michael Bernay, Kevan Mott, Darren Butler

Not Pictured: Dillon Mangham, Joe Vega, Ajani Dowdy, Aaron Wells, Eric Garcia, Rico Espinoza, Noel Torres

30+ Division Champions - Rangers 2018

Back Row Left to Right: Mike Villegas, Ernie Alvarado, Michael Duck-Lombardo, Joe Vega, Zack Sullivan, Steven Garza, Eddie Alvarado, Paul Arsenault, Eli Bello

Front Row Left to Right: Billy Potts, Gus Villegas, Darren Butler, Alex Mattero, Kevan Mott, Aaron Wells, Dustin Mott, Justin Miller

Not Pictured: Dereck Sayers, Brett Gissler, Scott Baxley, and Jason Wheaton

40+ Division Champions - Redbirds 2018

Back Row Left to Right: Steve Hatley, Keith Otero, RC Brown, Robert Calvert, Rob Welch, Garrett Liming

Front Row Left to Right: Chris Hux, Dan Hefton, Erik Cary, Mark Cololuca, Derek Deadmon, Jim Lanning

Not Pictured: Richard Corbin, Scott Farr, Brad Kinard, BJ Joseph, Paul Kallfelz, Paul Moomaw, Mike Kavcak

50+ Division Champions - Express 2018

Back Row Left to Right: Steve Hagey, Jack Alberty, Richard Corbin, Jeff Dainton, Erik Cary, Steve Gillis, Mike Anderson, Kenny Balthrop, Jim Lanning

Front Row Left to Right: Mike Mainello, Lucian Turk, Kyle Johnson, Garry Hackleman, Steve Mahany, Jerry Davis - (Manager)

Not Pictured:Mike Bates

60+ Division Champions - Indians 2018

Back Row Left to Right: Don George, John McCarthy, Steve Funk, Randy Alexander, Karl Quebe, Richard Zamora - (Manager)

Front Row Left to Right: Joe Lippert, Tommy Sladecek, Bruce Moore, Sam Park, Dennis Launarey, Kerry Storer, Rudy Canul

Not Pictured: Eric Collier, Bob Kaspar, Edward Oswald, Michael Vaughn

2016 Texas Cup

The 55+ Austin Express managed by Jerry Davis, beat the San Antonio Lone Stars 9-0 in the championship game to win their 3rd Texas Cup title in 4 years. Ed Looney pitched a complete game giving up only 4 hits and was named team MVP. Manager Jerry Davis said, "there were several players who could have won the MVP award, everyone played very well". The Austin Express ended up with a perfect 5-0 record for the tournament, the only team to be unbeaten and untied. The Express scored an impressive 52 runs while giving up only 10 runs in 5 games for the tournament including the championship day shut-out.

In the 35+ Division, the San Antonio Bombers managed by Jerry Spencer beat the Austin Red Birds 7-1 to claim the 35+ title. The Bombers were a solid team losing only 1 game during the tournament. Patrick Pulliam was named team MVP for his outstanding play during the tournament. The Red Birds managed by Chris Hux had just double dipped the #1 seed Houston Cyclones to get into the championship game but the Bombers played solid defense and their pitching remained tough. The Red Birds left 16 men on base but the Bombers always seemed to get out of trouble. This was the Bomber's 7th Texas Cup title while being managed by Jerry Spencer.

The 18+ ATX Thunder managed by Jon Cuip won a very exciting 9-8 game against a very good Corpus Christi Calcutta's team to claim their 3rd 18+ Texas Cup title in a row! With 1 out in the top of the 9th inning with Corpus Christi having the bases loaded, the Thunder turned a 1-2-3 double play to end the game. The Thunder had a almost perfect 4-0-1 record only being tied by a very tough Austin Astros team managed by Chris West. Pitcher Derrick Sampel was the Thunder's MVP pitching a shutout in Game 1 and also pitched in 2 other games during the tournament. The Thunder won 3 of their 5 games including the championship game by only 1 run proving to be very tough under pressure. Manager Jon Cuip said "this was a true team effort and everyone contributed to help us win our 3rd straight title.